Weight Troubles

June 3, 2010 at 6:28 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Pretty much every other person in office has now asked me when I am due. Can’t get offended, coz I know I look like I should be calling the hospital anytime now. I look pretty much like how I looked when I delivered sanj (yes, at NINE months THEN). This girl at office (she’s at 5mos and DOESNT SHOW A THING! – How I hate her!) asked me – “How many months are you on, Aish?”. “Only six”, I said, “and only one”.
“huh?”
“Only six months, and only one baby – no twins, triplets, quadruplets or otherwise”.

Sanj – “Why is your tummy so big, Amma?”.
I had an answer, ofcourse I did – “Because there is a baby in there” (Hah, blame it on the baby, not on the fact that you ate like a pig the last month).
Sanj – “How big is the baby”
What is this, the Spanish inquisition?
“Baby is small” and I disappear before the next (and very obvious and embarrassing) question comes along.

And Suresh this morning! “You look like one of those Seth ladies”. Seth, of course, is the generic name applied to N. Indians in Chennai, specifically to Marwaris. Suresh hasn’t ever seen a slim Marwari lady, every.
I was genuinely horrified. Okay, I am fat. But comparing me to a lady who sits and cooks and watches Soaps on Zee Cinema, doesnt speak any language other than hindi… Jeez, thats just too bad! “No, no”, he rushes to paper his cracks, “Don’t worry, another 6 or so months and then you can start gymming, walking etc etc and will be back to your old self in no time!”
Okay, the “Old self” I think of weighed 56 Kilos and was 27 years old. From here, that seems continents away. And gymming to get to there is like taking a quick walk to Timbuktu. Three months to go, only three months, I keep telling myself

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

